The abbreviation CEMT stands for the European Conference of Ministers of Transport: La Conférence Européenne des Ministres des Transports.

It currently has 43 European states that regulate freight transport in Europe.

Cross-border transport in the CEMT area requires a multilateral CEMT authorisation. It is particularly important for deliveries between EEA countries or Switzerland and a third country that is not a CEMT member.

A distinction must be made between annual and short-term permits, which are issued. The Federal Office for Freight Transport in Berlin issues all necessary information and permits.

These are only valid for the applicant company and are not transferable. Written proof is provided in the form of a driver's logbook.