CSC

(Container Safety Convention)

The abbreviation CSC stands for Container Safety Convention. It covers all international standards of safety and load requirements that a container has to meet.

The International Convention for Safe Containers has been in force since 1977 at the instigation of the International Maritime Organization. As early as 1972, 78 participants from the USA, China, Australia, Japan and all EU member states agreed to adopt a common security system.

The general test procedure and the strength requirements guarantee a high degree of safety in international container transport. The aim is to protect human life, as well as others.

For this purpose, a permanent security badge, the so-called CSC badge, is to be found on every container. This safety approval plate is issued after a thorough check and provides information on the following data:

In order to guarantee the safety standards on an ongoing basis, the responsible approval authority constantly inspects the containers. If they do not meet the requirements of the CSC or if the owner does not comply with the required changes, approval is withdrawn. The current version of the CSC dates from 2012.

CSC

(Container Safety Convention)

Die Abkürzung CSC steht für die Container Safety Convention. Sie umfasst alle internationalen Standards von Sicherheits- und Belastungsansprüchen, die ein Container erfüllen muss.

Die International Convention for Safe Containers ist auf Veranlassung der International Maritime Organization seit 1977 in Kraft. Bereits 1972 einigten sich 78 Teilnehmer aus den USA, China, Australien, Japan und allen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten auf die Verabschiedung eines gemeinsamen Sicherheitssystems.

Das allgemeine Prüfverfahren und die Festigkeitsanforderungen garantieren ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit im internationalen Containertransportwesen. Damit gilt es unter anderem das menschliche Leben zu schützen.

Zu diesem Zweck ist an jedem Container eine permanente Sicherheitsplakette, die sogenannte CSC-Plakette zu finden. Dieses Sicherheitszulassungsschild wird nach einer eingehenden Prüfung erteilt und gibt über folgende Daten Auskunft:

  • Approval Reference
  • Date Manufactured
  • Identification No.
  • Maximum Gross Weight
  • Allowable Stacking Weight
  • Racking Test Load Value

Um die Sicherheitsstandards auch fortlaufend zu garantieren, unterzieht die zuständige Zulassungsbehörde die Container ständigen Kontrollen. Entsprechen sie nicht den Anforderungen der CSC oder kommt der Besitzer den geforderten Veränderungen nicht nach, wird ihm die Zulassung entzogen. Die aktuelle Fassung der CSC stammt aus dem Jahr 2012.